Venice and its Lagoon UNESCO World Heritage

Diocese of Venice

The Diocese of Venice, metropolitan seat of the Catholic Church belonging to the Ecclesiastical Region of Triveneto, includes 128 parishes in the province of Venice, divided into 13 vicariates. Apart from practicing the religious cult, it contributes to the organization and management of various cultural activities related to the ecclesiastical heritage.

Following the signing of the Act of Understanding in 2007, The Diocese of Venice became a member of the “Steering Committee” of the UNESCO Site “Venice and its Lagoon”. The Committee holds the following Institutional powers regarding the protection, enhancement and management of the Site’s assets: protection and enhancement of the church heritage.

The projects of the Management Plan involving the Diocese of Venice

  • Safety and surveillance of places of worship
  • Sharing of information and data between the Site agencies
  • Census of places of worship in the UNESCO property

For further information:

The website of the Diocese of Venice

Back to Top